antipodean

By antipodean

Films

One of these things is not like the other! We discovered this at the movies today and Phoebe hopped behind the board to join the monsters at uni.

I had a really nice day today, even though it was pretty busy. Phoebe and I met for a late brunch at an awesome cafe at the State Library. The food was yum and we had a good long catch up - it's only been a week since we saw each other but it feels like longer because I've been up to Sydney and back in that time!

After brunch we went to see Pacific Rim, which was as awesome as I'd hoped. Idris Elba was amazing in the main role, and the rest of the cast (including a surprising appearance by Burn Gorman) was also brilliant, especially Rinko Kikuchi. I really liked it, and it was a nice antidote to the Transformers franchise - I like seeing action films that don't assume their audience are idiots!

I had my first shift at MIFF this evening, and it went really well. It wasn't too difficult, and I decided not to sit in on the film that was on so instead I put up a lot of posters and chatted to the other volunteers. I'm glad I get to be involved in MIFF, it's such a great festival.

This is maybe not the best photo technically speaking, but I love it anyway. Phoebe was just so excited to pose for it! She's basically decided to drop out of Monash and enrol in Monster University instead. It's probably way more fun there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.