Man about town

With Larissa round at her Mum's place all day, I was left to my own devices and decided to head into town and pick up a few of the things I've had my eye on for a while.

New Manbag. Check.
New Netbook. Check.
Super Mario. Check.
Manbrella. Erm, Larissa got me that, honest!

There is a cracking little photo shop hidden away in Truro town centre run by a guy who obviously knows what he's talking about. I've been trying to get hold of one of these Crumpler New Delhi bags for ages; Crumpler stuff is a hassle to get hold of in my experience but this only took three days to order in and I was even given the online price. Before I left the shop I had a wee shot on a 10mm wide-angle lens and got my sensor re-cleaned for nowt. Excellent.

You may remember a while ago I got all excited about the Asus EeePC 901 Netbook. That excitement was pretty short-lived; I decided it was a little bit too small and only had 12GB of memory so I punted it on ebay the other day and upgraded to the Samsung NC100 which has had glowing reviews. The guy in the Carphone Warehouse I bought it from had amazing product knowledge, was extremely helpful without being too pushy, and gave me so much confidence in the purchase that I felt like he was doing me a favour by letting me buy it! Having lived in Oman for the last few years, I'd almost forgotten what real customer service was like.

Next stop, Game. A quick browse told me all I needed to know, namely that every single thing on sale in that shop can be found about 40% cheaper on play.com. It's a mystery to me how Game survives; perhaps it's idiots like me buying Super Mario dolls that help the profits along. I'm currently enjoying many a session of Super Mario Kart DS over Nintendo Wi-Fi so there's definitely a blip in there somewhere.

There's nothing like a bit of retail therapy to beat the gloomy British weather, and if that doesn't work, there's always getting clocked by the neighbours taking pictures of yourself looking like a complete ponce to cheer you up.

Right, I'm off to play with all my new toys :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.