CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

On the pier at Ardchattan Priory

I have been doing some decorating at Nanno's house today after all the clearing that Tanya and Helena have achieved in the last few days. Of course it has taken longer than I expected, but it is looking much better. One more day for the second coat and I can retire again.

But it was rather sad as Tanya and Immy had to drive away this afternoon to catch their flight from Glasgow to Dubai, and then on to New Zealand. We don't know when we will meet again; it may be as much as a year or more. It has been lovely to see them, but I do miss not having more time to just sit, chat and generally catch up, partly because there is so much to do and they only have a matter of days here. I wish them well and at least we have Tanya's blips to see and read about her latest news.

When I finished this afternoon, Woodpeckers suggested a walk, but being lazy and somewhat decrepit these days, I suggested a drive two miles along the loch side to Ardchattan Priory. It is a place that featured strongly in Helena's childhood, growing up beside Loch Etive. She has told me stories of escapades and of quiet moments, particularly at this point where the ancient priory is sited. Now a new pier has been built to provide access to boats, especially for the fish farm pens that now lie only fifty yards offshore. We could hear the fish leaping out of the water regularly as we enjoyed the otherwise quiet of the loch. Helena said how busy and noisy it now seems, although I was quite happy with the occasional car or walker which might appear every so often.

I took pictures whilst Helena laid down here on the pier and looked eastwards towards the wonderful peak of Ben Cruachan whose top was mostly covered in cloud. At one point Helena told me to look up at those clouds, as a rainbow had appeared out of the clouds beside the peak. I was simply enjoying the lovely light of the early evening, as the incoming tide gradually began to raise the level of the sea. A little blue dinghy slowly drifted on its painter tied to the pier, and the seaweed slowly rose to the surface as the water steadily covered it over. A large pink jellyfish appeared on the surface, slowly pulsing in and out, with its long tail dropping to the bottom of the loch. It soon stopped and then slowly sank away again out of sight.

Birds flew whilst others swam and a couple of boats pottered past in the middle of the loch, with their wake bringing small ripples across the otherwise flat surface. It all seemed so peaceful and gorgeous. As I am writing now, looking out across the water, three large and long necked birds, looking more like geese than enormous ducks, are swimming towards the sun in the west just thirty yards from my seat. I think I will go back and have another gander at the evening light and the scenery, while I have the chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.