The Shot

Most of the time, if I told my friends and family that I'd spent my afternoon watching hoteliers and policemen on an inflatable hockey pitch, they'd be scrambling to ring the National Mental Health Helpline whilst keeping me distracted and docile with a rubber ball or a nice balloon. But thankfully, I have loads of photographs to prove that this really did happen, even if I'm still none the wiser as to what it was all in aid of.

I know that De Vere Venues played out a tight contest against West Midlands Police which the Old Bill eventually won (the key turning points were when they confiscated the opposition's sticks as offensive weapons, and then detained their goalie indefinitely under anti-terror laws). Got a few images I was pleased with, but felt this one was most blipworthy; a shot of a shot, as the coppers and the hospitality boys are caught in that agonising moment when the ball's flying towards goal and all their hopes are hanging in mid-air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.