wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Free as a bird

This is a catch up from Thursday, I wasn't at Antiques Roadshow today!

It was a lot of fun to work on the Antiques Roadshow. I was in the waiting room all day, looking after all the people to be filmed. A lot were really surprised that their item was interesting enough for the tv - most people had brought things along just to find out some background about their treasures. One person put it very nicely when she told me she wasn't fussed about the value of the items, she just wanted someone in the business to appreciate them so they wouldn't go to waste. I spent my day making cups of tea and coffee, and keeping the room generally tidy. We had intended on having two people in there, and another two roving around outside with refreshments for the experts, but in the end I was the only one inside and everyone else was outside. We were also going to swap after lunch, but everyone had found their system and it made sense just to stick with what we were already doing.

The makeup people were really lovely, making a fuss of the kids who might appear next to mum or dad on camera, powdering their noses and making them feel a part of it all. There were a few nerves, a few shocked faces, but generally it was fairly calm and pleasant.

At the end of the day I was released back into the wild. The room we'd been in was windowless and at the bottom level of the building, so it was a relief to be back outside. While eating my dinner I saw these birds soaring overhead, under a backdrop of delicate cloudwork.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.