The Laws

By thelaws

Bess - a work in progress

I recently became the proud owner of a 'new to me' bicycle. I'd fancied a Raleigh Chiltern and as luck would have it, I am now the owner of one.

A test ride a few weeks ago revealed that a little work would be in order. Namely that the second gear kept slipping. A few other issues - the back wheel could be straighter, the stand and pedal clashed in each revolution, the front disc handle was a little out of the way, plus some cosmetic work - ie a darn good clean!

Today I got the chance to take it to the Broken Spoke Coop in Oxford, where under guidance I did the work myself. A test ride revealed that the indexing of the gears isn't enough and I need to STRIP the hub..... Arghhhhhh, I'm going back in a couple of weeks for that one. Then I think Bess ( as I've christened my wheels) and I will have a rather nice date together.

I've even got oil under my nails.... and a MASSIVE sense of achievement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.