never enough

I managed to catch this particular bit of rain on the way home. It finished by the time I got back, though I did pop back out again after dumping some shopping and my work-bag in case it came back but it didn't.

Earlier in the day I'd also managed to time my lunch-walk nicely in order to get some nice rain at around two in the afternoon. As my head was dripping wet by the time I got back to the office I removed most of the water with a paper towel so that I didn't dribble water into my keyboard over the remainder of the afternoon. As the drying-action had been performed without want nor aid of mirror I expect my hair would have been sticking up a bit afterwards as hair tends to do when it's been quickly wiped dry. I believe this to have been why my head attracted a smirk and inaudible comment from boss¹, a man whose hair indicates that he spends a considerable time each morning arranging it with the aid of expensive hair-paste and a comb in a mirror each morning, possibly with several repair sessions throughout the day when passing mirrors or after experiencing wind or rain. Odd that he should feel empowered sufficiently by this process to smirk at another's hair just because it exhibited change wrought by natural processes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.