LuckyGirl

By LuckyGirl

Weight of the world (in grams)

So, I want to bake a cake. I have every possible baking tool known to man...in the US. My fella's baking experience is limited to toasting bread. So, after an obscene amount of money was spent at Lakeland's I was ready to tackle the ingredients. We bought based on memory as I didn't have the recipe with me. We did amazingly well, but I must admit that everything has a slightly diff't name..."icing sugar" is confectioner in my world. We don't really differentiate "caster" sugar...it's just sugar, and I've never used mascarpone for cake icing. AND, "desiccated" coconut was completely new to me. Shredded coconut yes..but I've never heard of desiccated (which my brain wants to call desecrated coconut).

The whole time we were at the grocery store, my fella kept asking if I needed to buy a scale. Nooooo, I said....I bought all kinds of measuring cups & do das at Lakelands. He asked several times, but I brushed him off.

When we got home, I was ready to cast off my fella to the pub so I could get down to some baking. Just as I pulled out my new measuring devices I realised nothing would measure out grams. Don't laugh at me. I sort of understand that's a weight, but surely one of these fancy measuring cups could sort me out....WRONG! I need a damn scale. It was just the last straw of "new" experiences...learning curves...yada yada yada. I just want something that looks "normal" to me...and right now, that's a Betty Crocker cake recipe! Ha!

My sweet fella caught my melt down & wisely snuck out the door. I stepped away from the kitchen as I was starting to hate this cake project. My sweet man came back home 10 min later with a scale so I could weigh out some freaking grams of flower, butter, & sugar. I love that man. So, the cakes are cooling & will have a layer of raspberry jam / mascarpone / coconut icing in just a while....when my fella comes home from the pub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.