Nicktor's news

By Nicktor

That's out!

Bugger - that means I'm in!

I'm still going through the emotion of half of me wanting to go in to bat, and half of me being too scared. I went in towards the end of our innings today and it was clear we had nowhere near enough runs, so I needed to try and hit out.

Actually, I would have much preferred to have been able to take my time and defend my wicket, but one has to remember (sometimes) that cricket is a team game!

So 13 from 15 deliveries before I was caught out. I was quite pleased with a hook shot (for 2) from a ball that was going straight for my head and a couple of lovely drives, one of which flew to the boundary. Sadly some of our earlier batsmen had defended far too many balls, and we finished with only 206 from our 42 overs.

Fortunately someone knew how to calculate Duckworth/Lewis because it absolutely piddled down during the latter stages of the game, but to be honest, our lack of runs was already beginning to be obvious, and although we had taken 5 wickets, the game was running away from us.

Never mind - a lovely game of cricket, and I have to say the Chaps from Knights Valley were amongst the nicest I've met before. A wonderful afternoon .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.