John

John plays for Woodhouse Cricket Club, the opposition and hosts today for Ben Rhydding second team. He was a joy to watch on the cricket field and a pleasure to talk to when I grabbed the chance later in the afternoon (after Forrest had dismissed him for a duck). He was such an engaging character that I was compelled to say hello. I'm so glad I did. For me, he epitomises what sport is really all about. It's about competing rather than winning. It's about being as competitive as possible and getting the very best out of yourself in the process. It's also about enjoying yourself. Winning is great. Losing is not so great. But in a truly competitive match, where two sides bring the best out of each other, the winning or losing shouldn't be the most important thing. John understands that. I brought my boys up to understand that, but I think it's something you really only learn over time, through experience. They're young and very eager. And desperate to win!

We lost this game, despite looking like we were going to win until the final few overs. Roam wasn't actually playing here today because he had earned a call up to the first team. That was exciting news midweek and Forrest, to his very great credit, was as pleased for and proud of him as I was. As the first team were batting at home I headed off to Leeds to hopefully watch Forrest bat, arriving about half an hour after the start. In that situation it's always an enormous relief to catch sight of him at the crease and know he's played himself in. He stroked the ball beautifully today: solid in defence and dispatching the bad ball with considerable disdain. He never gave a chance until he lost patience slightly and played a loose shot when on 85. He got a leading edge and John here came in to take to the catch off his own bowling. It was sad that he didn't go on to get the hundred he fully deserved but it's the best I've seen him play all season. Talking to John later, he was full of praise for the innings, and that was before he knew it was my son that he was talking about. It's so refreshing to see cricketers taking pleasure from a performance on the opposition side!

We went on to post a score of 253 - which in the end did not prove to be sufficient. Forrest was the pick of the bowlers, taking three wickets, and with a bit of luck could easily have got a few more. The second team missed Roam today. We were a bowler short and we paid the price for that. Although we lost, it was a very competitive game throughout and the result was in the balance right up until the penultimate over. This was not the case for the firsts however. Playing Beckwithshaw, the very best team in the league, they were rolled over for just 46 runs, which meant that I never got back to see Roam bowl. I was very happy to hear that he acquitted himself well, getting a wicket in his very first over. He enjoyed the intensity of the cricket if not the result (which was only a five wicket loss in the end) and hopefully today's will be the first of many wickets he will get at this level of cricket. The first division of this league is a very high standard indeed.

Thank you all so much for the wonderful comments and hearts (and wisdom) for yesterday's blip. I was intending to comment back a bit this evening but I ended up staying at the cricket much longer than expected. The brisk ride back has energised me somewhat, but after a bath and cooking dinner and skyping with TJ and now writing up my journal (which was important for me today), it is now well after midnight. You deserve better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.