Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Mamasan and her brood

Composition theory: the small cat

by Manuel António Pina

The small cat observed each of my gestures
trying to understand with very attentive eyes,
absolutely still, tense head,
sticking ears as if she could listen to
each word I was writing
on the paper; what was she seeing,
what logic motivated her?
Older cats and young men
don't get interested in such futile things.


Thanks to PolaroidBlips for this Portuguese poem translated into English for my birthday. I was going to skip blipping today, but I decided, once I got this gift of a poem about cats and writers, that I'd use it as an excuse to aim the new lens at Mamasan. Love the dof here.

Mamasan was taken from her own mama before she was properly weaned. She had two litters before she was a year old; therefore she missed out on her kittenhood. Now she plays with toy mice as if they're baby dolls or kitten-substitutes instead of prey. I think if I had mice she'd nurse them.

Comments off again. I'm reading, visiting with Leif, and loving these perfect summer days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.