stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Memories...

Just a quick shot out of the window today, processed to celebrate the memories of holidays past.

I'm sure most of you will remember the pre-digital days. You know... when cameras used rolls of film that afforded 24 or 36 shots and you had to wait days or weeks to get your holiday shots processed and returned to you without knowing what the results would be. The homage of this shot is all those extra shots you had to take when you got home to use up the film before you could take it down to the chemist/garage/photo shop for developing and especially the extra dodgy last shot that always had light/exposure damage to the negative and the print.

I had a wee bit of fun with numbers today. I've grouped together 15 SD cards for my trip. Each 16GB card allows me 528 RAW shots. Added to that, I have my permanently installed 32GB CF card in the second slot which gives me another 1056 shots and a total of 8796 shots (hmmm, is that enough, I wonder)? In old money, that's the equivalent of 374 rolls of 24 exposure film. Checking Amazon, I can get 20 roll boxes for £29.95. Needing 19, the cost of buying the film would be £569.05. That compares to the less than £200 I've paid over time for my reusable cards. Of course, that's only the half of it. I checked out fujifilm's processing website and it costs £6.50 per roll for 6x4 prints. You do get free postage and cd with that (whoopy do) but that would mean a whopping bill of £2,431 for development!!!

I haven't even thought about how I'd transport all that in my hand luggage or how long it would take customs to hand check it! :-)

3 sleeps!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.