Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

Feathers everywhere

This is the sight which greeted me outside the kitchen window this morning. Obviously its a shame for the victim but its nature isn't it. Its not the greatest of shots as its been cropped as I didn't have the camera with long zoom to hand. As I moved to get a better view I was spotted and the Sparrowhawk flew off only to return a short while later and remove the remains into the undergrowth where he wouldn't be disturbed!

My neighbour found a seabird in trouble this morning down on the marsh. A casualty of yesterday's fishing competition. The poor bird was completely entangled with fishing line, lead weights and hook. I didn't see the bird but they took photos of it before taking it to Knoxwood Wildlife Rescue which is where I took the starling the other week. Hopefully the bird will be saved! They are going to take it up with the competition organisers as its a problem here and dogs also get the hooks in their mouths. I've had to remove one from Bonnie's mouth before now, thank goodness she hadn't swallowed it and she's not the only one either.

Well after a very very wet day with torential downpours its turned out to be a nice sunny evening and no doubt I'll make my way down to the marsh for the sunset, but I'm avoiding the fishing area!!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.