Finally...a Butterfly

I was beginning to think that I wasn't going to see a butterfly all summer. Here it is July 28, and I've seen less than a handful...taking zero photos.

But, in search of more hummingbirds...this swallowtail showed up. He stopped his flittering long enough to let me get 6-7 shots. Since I didn't see any hummers, I was glad Blackie showed up.

Me and the butterfly...
have never seen eye to eye.
To shoot them I do try...
but they're always on the fly.

I'd like to ask them why...
why they have to be so shy?
Why can't they yell BANZAI!...
and...then land on my thigh?

On my list of beauty, they are high...
but, I cannot tell a lie.
If an insect had to get my AYE...
I'd vote for the dragonfly.

Bye-bye from this guy. (sigh.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.