Skyroad

By Skyroad

Weather Eye

Weather continues changeable, fast restless clouds, downpours, moments of summery warmth, like little clearings, then the sun bounced into slate-grey shade before it can get properly dressed (much less put its hat on). I decided to take the wean to Bray to see my cousin Pat, who is the hardest working person I know (up at 6 every morning to paint in his cluttered studio/terrace house then possibly work at teaching in the evening or afternoon). The wean enjoyed the visit though he got a slight fright when he saw the MONSTER in Pat's toilet.

I have blipped Pat's portrait before, though this time I caught something RATHER DIFFERENT.. The smells of turps and oil paint is so thick you could skim it with a palette knife. Hence the heavy-duty CDC-style MASK.

Afterwards we went to the funfair on the prom in Bray seafront. The lifeguard's hut (above) was out again; something I've blipped before, though not quite like this. I was a bit disappointed to realise that rain had got on the lens, but then thought it might have added something; a sense of how shitty the weather was. Wean kept running into the sea and soaking his jeans and shoes, till I gave up trying to stop him.

I originally chose BOUNCE WORLD, because of its Twilight-Zone eerieness, as if, instead of the warlock weather, a sinister magician (Mr Bouncy?) had made everyone disappear or turned them into garden furniture. But I suspect not many might enjoy the strangeness of this image (the Martin Parr fans maybe), so I switched the main blip to the above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.