Dreamscape 1

'I'm waiting for the sun,' he said with a voice so sure that I couldn't possibly do anything other than offer to sit and wait with him.

'Do you mind,' I said, nodding to the earth at his side, the presumption of acceptance never my strong suit.

'Sure,' he replied, ease in his voice as he stared into the southern sky and the clouds that kept the sun from our eyes.

I sat down, the cool damp earth immediately making me aware of the surroundings in which I now resided.

'You live here?' I asked, part by way of conversation and part by way of trying to forget the fact that I suddenly felt vulnerable, the elements taking away my assured sense of self. He said nothing, simply put his right big finger to his lips and then let it rise to the sky to point into the heavens. Warmth touched my cheeks as I followed his out reached arm and my eyes rested on the sun. It had come at last.


A

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.