Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At home: Horse boy

The children have grown up with Jack. Jack has grown up with the children. He is the one thing that remained the same, solid and dependable. We came by him as a foal. I dragged him out of a slurry lagoon on a quad bike. He has jumped over a fence into it. He thrashed around for some hours, with the then owner saying, "no good will come of him now "and became more and more stuck. I was told not to go in after him, because of what I could catch from the slurry pit.

He laid quite still while I secured the straps around his body and even stiller while I dragged him out. Perhaps exhausted or shocked, I think we had had a meeting of minds back then. Perhaps, that's when he was broken in, purely because he came to realise that I could help him, not hurt him.

I think that's why he never harms myself or the children. Jack is a powerful little pony and seemingly quite protective and certainly very trusting. Ever since the Lagoon, we have been in it together. I think he knows that....x

Also see More horse boy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.