Everyday Life

By Julez

Opthalmological Gadgetry

Today has quite possibly been the longest day of my life so far! I was up at 6AM. That's 6AM. In the morning! I didn't know until today that mornings had a 6 0 clock!
By 8AM I was in the gym, where my instructor decided today was the day I start a more intense regime. I also started a new, strict diet today. By the time I managed to escape my legs felt like they were made of jelly!
Home to have a quick wash, do the bare minimum tidying up and get ready to walk up to the hospital to accompany my parents while my Mum had a cataract removal and lens implant. This was done on a conveyor-belt system along with 6 other people having similar treatment, and, including waiting, took a grand total of 4 hours! Whilst no medical staff were looking, I had a quick sneak around with my camera and took a few snaps of the medieval-torture-style instruments they were using, so I had something to Blip!
During the 4 hours, I received a phone-call from my boss saying that he'd meant to call me yesterday and could I possibly work tonight. I'd been half expecting that to be honest, so I said I would. I've known Rez, my boss long enough to know that he's incapable of doing anything before the last possible minute!
So I dashed home, had a quick bite to eat, put my work clothes on and headed off to work. I have just finished the busiest Monday night shift we have had in ages! Phew! I feel a bit giddy and light headed now...off for a much deserved coffee and collapse in front of the TV!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.