Australian White Ibis

I had just left the National Geographic Wildlife Photographer of the year exhibition at the museum when I saw a number of these. Perhaps I was inspired! The exhibition was amazing. The overall winner while incredible, wasn't my favourite. Perhaps too busy for me? There were some great tigers and also a simple black crow all puffed up on white snow. The kids ones were fantastic.

I don't like these ibis but decided to blip one as they are very prevalent in Sydney. Maybe an Aussie can tell me some redeeming features? To me they are quite scary looking things with their rather vulture like heads.

Wikipedia doesn't have nice things to say either. Here's a wee sample!

"The White Ibis usually gives off a foul stench. This smell is not described as rotten, but an odd smell that is rather unpleasant and distinct. The call is a long croak."

Home now. Uneventful and quick flight. Thanks Air New Zealand.

PS A year ago I blipped about 50m away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.