Whitecliff

By DaveWhitecliff

Caught by the river, Chablis

We drove away from yesterday's rain and thunderstorms and parked the van at the municipal campsite in Chablis, a very chilled place.

There is a small river running along the border of the site. In the morning I went for a little walk along the bank; a really peaceful time. I hoped to see fish rising but I think they were having a lie-in. The water was very still, as you can see here.

Little rivers like this are some of my favourite places. The village where I grew up had a brook running through it, and I still enjoy walking along when I go back to visit my folks. The brook still has wild brown trout in it, but the kids don't seem to be interested in tickling them like we used to be.

The website CaughtByTheRiver (dot net) is one of my favourite places on t'interweb. If you like taking time out by rivers, it's well worth checking out. There is a book, a collection of their best writing, available too.

Opening a bottle of Chablis now. When in Rome...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.