KatPrice

By KatPrice

Ich bin jetzt kein Berliner

The day finally came to rescind all ties that bind me to Berlin - exmatriculating at the Freie and having to abmelden at the Bürgeramt. I am officially no longer a resident of Berlin (and it only took four hours). Back in October I could barely string a sentence together in German, and had to register at both the Bürgeramt and University in English. Now, ten months later, I found myself more than competent to not only sort out all the official stuff in German, but even have a chat with both women that took my paperwork about my time in Berlin and hopes to someday return.

After getting completely and utterly drenched trying to find a café with any space whatsoever in the rain in Mitte to meet my parents, we had one last visit to the Pergamon, and then had dinner at Lemon Leaf, the best Vietnamese restaurant in Berlin. Although I'm absolutely shattered after such a long day, I'm still rejoicing in the little victories and thinking back on my time here and all the lovely memories I've made and people I've met here.

Pergamon Museum, Bodestraße 3
Lemon Leaf, Grünberger Straße 69

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.