Neglect...

The part of the cemetery that I sometimes visit, where the John MacLeod bench is, has been seriously neglected over the summer... someone really needs to cut the grass.

Talking of neglect...

Did you know that employees and volunteers who work with children and young adults in Scotland are not required by law to undergo a disclosure check?

They are not required by law!

How is that even possible?

It is unclear whether this is also the case in England & Wales. According to the Charity Commission website it is required by law but I have no confirmation of that.

I spoke with the Disclosure Unit at Lothian & Borders this morning who confirmed that it is not mandatory. Today I've written to the Minister of Children and Young People to ask why.

I'm horrified and I don't have children. As parents, I would hope that when you leave your children with other people, you will check to make sure that the staff have had a PVG/DBS check carried out. Please don't assume.

Every person I asked at work today, had presumed that it was mandatory. It beggars belief that it is not. It has made me quite cross. I shall keep you posted.

EDIT: Schools/nurseries etc. are required to carry out disclosure checks as Caffeinated pointed out in the comments below and I'm sure most responsible organisations also carry out disclosure checks. Most, not all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.