cupcakes and jellytots

By featherduster

"For to be free.."

"No one is born hating another person because of the colour of their skin, or his background or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught how to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart."

This man is a miracle! Many times the amazing man that is Nelson Mandela has been reported as being on death's door and has had a nation's government preparing its people for the moment when they lose him.

The African people have so much to thank Nelson Mandela for in his quest for freedom and release from the strong hold of Apartheid which the country suffered for so long. He will always be regarded as a symbol of freedom and when that terrible day does eventually arrive when he is gone from the world, he will be remembered as a man that would never take no for an answer!

For my A-Level RE coursework I studied Apartheid, linking it and its aftermath to passages from the Bible and it was here that I first became to learn about the role that Mandela played, his time in prison, etc. Seems fitting that whilst he remains in hospital recovering from his latest health scare, that the new Hollywood movie about his life story is being 'advertised' and the actors are on the 'media run' to publicise it! Can't wait to see it!

".....I have taken a moment here to rest, to steal a view of what surrounds me, to look back on the distance I have come. But I can only rest for a moment, for with freedom comes responsibilities, and I dare not linger for my long walk is not ended...."

# Long Walk to Freedom - Nelson Mandela #

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.