Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hummie Week - Day Two

Meet Blaze, one of this year's juvenile male ruby-throats. As you can see here, he has a distinctive light green patch on the top of his head, distinguishing him from the other young males in the garden. And since he was gracious enough to pose with his head in the bee balm, I figured that earned him a spot on Blip.

Thank you for being so receptive to my self-imposed hummingbird challenge - I shall try not to disappoint, and will also try to show you something new each day. And maybe I can throw in an interesting fact or two...

For example, did you know that the ruby-throated hummingbird beats its wings approximately 53 times per second? It's no wonder that they sounds like bees when they whiz past your head.

For those of you following Brunhilda, the Nursery Web spider, she is still in the garden raising her spidey-tots on one of the sunflowers - all gazillion of them! The goldfinches are nesting now, which doesn't stop them from visiting the sunflowers. I was soundly and loudly scolded by both of the house wren parents when I got too close to their nest box today. Dad was scolding me while clutching a big juicy spider in his beak. Yuck. These moments and a few other can be viewed in nine shots posted on Flickr, starting HERE - and fair warning, the first shot is a close up of Brunhilda!

Last year's blip was one of my personal favorite shots of a tiny skipper butterfly. HERE if you'd care to have a look.

Thank you for sending yesterday's hummer to the front page of Spotlight - always a thrill for me.

And people ... Happy Hump Day!

xxoo
Debbi

PS: And if you haven't seen BikerBear/Anni's Cancer Awareness project, featuring T-Rex, please check it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.