stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Carry On Luggage

I knew I was in trouble before I left this morning. The carry on allowance for my flight was 7kg. My camera bag weighed in at just under 10kg. As the check-in began I saw that they were weighing both hand luggage and checked luggage. Shit! I began formulating my arguments for letting me take in on board while simultaneously trying to decide which lens I could do without least when my arguments fell on deaf ears. I was still wondering half an hour later when I was called to the desk. Passport. Ticket. Do you have any hand luggage? On the scales it went. I looked at the display. 8.5kg. Phah, so much for my hyper accurate scales! Still, it was over. I looked into her eyes. My mouth started forming the words.

"Your allowance is only 7kg..."

Tumble weeds passed as a squeal rose in my throat.

"Don't put anything else in your bag, ok."

It was the most lovely rebuke I'd been given in my life, delivered with a stunning smile. Phew! Smile! Swallow (to get rid of the squeak). Don't trust the swallow and just smile again and nod your head. Woo Hoo! I could finally relax! :-)

I'm on my way!!!

A quick blip as I only have 30 mins free access at the airport. The ubiquitous "reflections in a terminal window" shot tonight. My plane, the best advice RBS has ever given my and a little something extra for the boys and girls at work (Can you see it? Can you?). I was a little worried this morning. Glorious sunshine in Edinburgh. Not the way you want to leave on holiday. But good old dependable Glasgow came to my rescue once more. No sooner had I arrived at the airport than the heavens opened and its been raining ever since. Sorry folks. The sun can return tomorrow (just don't tell me about it). This however, is the perfect way to leave on holiday.

Thank you Glasgow!

So, here I am. Checked in. Through customs. Chilled out. I'm officially getting excited now! See you in 24 hours Australia! :-)

Ross. The other thing I forgot? Money for the taxi. D'oh! :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.