Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Thruppeny Bits (Threepenny Pieces)

I was given these two birthday cards by my aunt some years ago. She received them from a friend she had met in Wales while she was on active service during WW2.

The first, sent to my aunt in 1944, was accompanied by the silver threepenny pieces you can see here. At that time it was decided that these coins were too small so, the mint was in the process of transferring to the brass coin you see in in the second birthday card.

It has been suggested that the thrift emblem which you see on this coin was included as a representation of the austerity of the war years. However, some of the coins in this card had been minted in 1937, so I suspect that the plant is more likely to have been included as a result of the period of depression that followed the first war.

Anyway, all these 3's are for blip. I've modified the cards slightly so that the greeting comes from me. Best wishes to all the guys who have made this possible and to all the blippers who continue to support their ideas. I've had 99 fun filled adventures so far and I am enjoying every minute. Happy third birthday everyone.

PS For the pre-decimalization bods amongst us; four 3 pennies made a shilling and a shilling was the equivalent of 5p in 1971.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.