The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Simply Ducky

The sounds of children in the town pool combined with thousands of cicadas singing in the summer foliage appeared to have mesmerized Miss Ducky.

I was surprised that she posed for me, but realized later that she may have been lost, or perhaps waiting for her ducklings to return, even though they had probably grown and left the nest for good.

She reminded me of so many mothers who have raised their babies, only to find that they must let go and watch from a distance as their adult children leave to pursue their own lives and dreams.

This lone female duck stood watch by the pond. She drank a bit of water and just stared off into the distance.

What an amazing and beautiful creature.

I thanked her for letting me photograph her and moved on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.