Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Bournemouth/Isle of Purbeck

After a far too early start to catch the first train, I arrived at Bournemouth at 7.45 a.m.! As predicted, the weather (and I) was wild and woolly, drizzling and foggy, but certainly woke me up a bit as I walked along the beach to Sandbanks.

I decided to get the chain link ferry from Sandbanks, over to the Isle of Purbeck, Studland Bay, as I had plenty of time and something I've never done before. There were beautiful, almost deserted beaches over there and the sun even tried to come out. I walked as far as Knoll Beach which was lovely, with wooded areas around it. I'd have liked to have walked further, but my trotters were getting a bit tired by now and had to get the ferry back over to Sandbanks. I thought about getting the bus back to Bournemouth but decided to have a paddle along in the sea and rolled up my jeans (but no knotted handkerchief on my head though). My jeans were still wet up to the knees when I got back to Waterloo Station though in the evening, my pocket was rattling, full of shells, very sandy shoes and a sunburnt face even though the sun was only out for a few minutes (I probably had a crab stuck in my poodle-like hair too!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.