legless2007

By legless2007

Serendipity and 17 species of butterfly and moths

Incredible. My rota day off corresponded with the return of the 'heatwave', allegedly for one day only. Wonderful Anne joined me for my Wider Countryside Butterfly Surveys, 2 squares in the Cotswolds. The butterflies and moths were so incredibly abundant in places that we were speechless, I've never had a summer like this one. The farm manager for one of the squares is so interested and lovely, it makes a real difference and it shows in the number of species thriving on his farm.

A now traditional picnic of cheese (a bit hot, and a bit erm softer than usual?) and biscuits and peaches on a hillside not near any roads or people.

2x surveys plus walks in between in the heat we had today called for cold drinks in the Green Dragon, I may have over-shared, I hope my wonderful friend doesn't feel that this makes her responsible for helping me find happiness.

I didn't take my SLR, just a point and shoot compact, but this Brimstone sat still.

We did surveys and talked science, tonight I'll dream of clouds of Meadow Browns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.