Twilight; Loch Skene

About 8.00pm I headed west out of Aberdeen
and drove to the south side of Loch Skene.
I have been wanting to photograph the folly
against the lake and sky for sometime.
The road on the south side is a fair trek from the shore
through quite dense plantations. The water margins extend for a
considerable distance out from the loch and it took me a good hour
to trek in as conditions underfoot were treacherous.
I came out at the wrong point on the shoreline for the shot I wanted
but made the best of it, having decided I was not waiting for the sun to set
or I would never make it out dry.
This photograph is a bit of an indulgence ,
a 12 shot panorama stitched in photoshop.
But, I always like what a very wide view does to the sky
and the rush it creates.
Camera has obviously moved on the third shot as there is a patch
out of focus or blurred. However, at least I know a route into
the south west bank now.
I was soaked by the time I made it back to the car.
A combination of humidity on the inside of my gortex,
rapidly descending mist and tramping through marsh and thigh high grass
still wet from the rain.
The folly can just be seen sticking out from the trees at the right hand side of the picture and ideally I wanted to be be on the shoreline by the trees on the right.
However, it would have taken at least another half hour
to work my way round this short distance .
It is worth viewing LARGE even although,
I had to massively compress image to upload it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.