Gourock

Every Night Is Followed By Sunrise

This is one of my favourite views of Gourock as its the one I see when I'm coming home. I headed for Cardwell Bay again this morning as the light was poor, the clouds were low and there was no hope of an actual sunrise (yet again). At least it was a bit later and my alarm didn't go off until 5am!

The derelict pier looks like a reminder of Gourock's hey day when it would have been busy with holiday makers coming doon the watter, but in fact it only appeared on maps after WW2 indicating that it was built to serve warships at anchor in the Firth of Clyde.

I was hoping for a glimpse of the swan family who spend their days in Cardwell Baynbut as I discovered back in April, swans don't always live where they hang out and they hadn't yet arrived at their favourite day time spot. I love the sound of swans in flight, the loud beat of their powerful wings combined with a sort of honking sound is quite distinctive.

Now that it's August the official end of my project is only 3 weeks away so I need to decide, do I stop at 6 months, or keep going for a whole year of sunrises (now the earliest is past!)?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.