TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Free Falling~

~Euphoria In The Desert~

I was alone out in the Sonoran Desert tonight. Just driving west on a nondescript dirt road, miles from nowhere in particular. There is a joke out here, "Your so far out in the middle of nothing that when you turn around and head for home, by the time you reach the highway your headlights are 5 miles behind you!" Thats where I was tonight.

At about sunset I pulled over hoping for a sundown show, but the prospects for a good sunset image were on the negative side. It was cloudy and the western sky was a dark colorless mass. By the time I headed my Ford truck home I had over 200 clicks in my camera of this sunset. You know what? I could have gone home with over 300 clicks. I can't describe how this evening affected me. A one point I just stopped photographing and put my camera down, sat in the desert sand with my back up against the fender of my truck. I felt I could do no more here and decided to just enjoy the event. At that point the radio in my F-150 began playing Free Falling by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. Memories of California and my youth flooded my mind. I became so happy that I almost began to cry!

Thanks, TucsonJim ;o)

A Bigger Free Fall Sunset

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.