GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Happiness

I was honoured to be invited to the wedding of my childhood friend Louise to her handsome fiancé Brian. It has been a long time since I've seen her, so I didn't actually meet Brian until we were all leaving the church and he was already her husband!

Brian is a pilot in the Irish Air Corps and, as is tradition, members of his battalion came into the church during the Mass to carry out a Eucharistic Salute. It was quite surprising and a little thrilling to see them marching down the narrow aisle carrying their swords and looking very sharp in their uniforms.

It was a wonderful day. They got married in "the blue church" in Kilternan, the same church as Louise's Mum, Marie, who is my Mum's schoolfriend. The speeches and meal were great, and the band was brilliant so there was great dancing.

After a very fun and happy day, I was reluctant to go to bed in the early hours. I guess it was fair enough though, since the hotel staff had to clean the room for breakfast (it was that late!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.