samsticks

By samsticks

St Peter's Church, Petersfield

We went into Petersfield today for lunch and a walk around. Gina and Sue went shopping and Miles and I went for a wander.

We've been living outside of the UK for nearly 5 years now (what started as a 1-year round-the-world trip seems to have escalated!), and coming back, I'm always just amazed that I grew up around such old buildings.

St Peter's Church in Petersfield has been around since the Normans - that means that it's been there since the 11th century! Now I'm sorry my Australian hosts... we just can't get close to that in Melbourne! I can picture the knights stopping off here on the way to the Crusades. This is a seriously old building!

Hopefully I'll have some more English history for you before we return home to Melbourne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.