Think, try, share

By JonBusby

The Dog Walker

Lois and I went over to Tynemouth to do some Instagram pictures.

I took her to see Collingwood Monument, the immense statue of the great Admiral that looks over the Tyne.

Collingwood was Lord Nelson's second in command at Trafalgar, taking full command when the latter died in combat.

The monument was designed by another great Northumbrian, John Dobson.

The funny thing was that as we came round the huge pedestal of the monument I saw a dog walker sandwiched between the blue of the sky and green of the grass. I knelt a little to clear out a few distractions and boom I had my Blip.

If I had walked a few yards forward and stood up suddenly the hustle and bustle of the Tyne would have opened up. But the shot portrays calm.

This style is really appealing to me. I like the idea of mankind being diminished by the immensity of nature, in this case, the sky.

On a slightly more profound level, 35 years ago I used to run past here as part of my school cross country. Today I walked up the same hill with my beautiful daughter.

ps I never noticed the plane in the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.