a town called E.

By Eej

Dear Chicago ...

When they said we'd have a few showers today we didn't realise that meant it would be chucking it down all the way to Chicago. I imagined the wettest passport photos in the history of the world. Fortunately once we had a foggy view of the skyline it cleared right up.
Hurray!
We parked and walked in search of the by the Consulate recommended photographer. I'm pretty sure I got scammed with the photos but the man showed us a bathroom we desperately needed so I forgave him. Plus, I knew for certain these photos would be accepted and that we wouldn't have to go back to have them redone.
We walked through an increasingly warmer city to Millennium Park, over the Art Museum Skyway, past the Bean and up to Wacker where the Dutch Consulate is.

I love Chicago, I do. For a big city it feels like a cosy small town and I decided we shall go back more often - for fun, not for business like today. It was lucky I was well prepared for the passport application; all people ahead of me weren't which took forever. In a small room with no daylight. Pfff.
When it was my turn the woman processing the paperwork was very pleased - and she said that earlier today there was a family of five with my last name - was I related? I had to say no, but said that I would have LOVED to meet them :)

Then back trough the city and the park. It's Lollapalooza weekend in the city and the Masses had started to Arrive - it was heaving! We stopped at the Crown fountain - ( more here).

It was so full of joy and wonder and shrieks and awesomeness I took my shoes off and joined. Little boys running past me, splashing around. Little girls dragging their daddies. Teenagers being all coy and awkward in each others presence.

I sponged it all up, savoured and bottled it.

This is my new happy place. I can still feel it :)


I put some extras in my Blipfolio. In case anyone is interested :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.