Aliens have landed!

I have no idea what this is; it has eyes like a fly, a body and legs more like a mosquito than anything else and it seems really into pollen... Anyone want to venture a guess?? It’s body length is about a 1/4 inch and it diligently worked on this flower for more than 10 minutes. It seemed oblivious to me and my camera, or maybe it just didn’t feel threatened. I even bumped the flower at one point, but it never stopped it’s pursuit of pollen/nectar.

Have a look large...

Today started with thunderstorms that had our dog Piper shaking and quaking. Though, as soon as that passed, she was back to old herself. Once she was settled, I went to join my husband in town to peruse the down-town street sale. (All of the stores have tables and tents on the street with items for sale at a discount.) We didn’t find anything on sale to buy but didn’t come home empty handed. ;) Town is packed, not only for the sale, but this week is the Traverse City Film Festival. This brings in people from all over and a few stars are in town as well. Needless to say, the town is packed! We got brave and had lunch at a restaurant in the middle of the crowds. We must have timed it just right, because we didn’t have to wait and got to a table right away. (As we ate, the long line was backed up to the door.)

I spent the rest of the afternoon with my camera and ended up with a few entertaining shots of the bug community. Though, this one seemed like the winner... it’s an alien... of course the alien wins the blip spot...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.