Marketing

I can be a wee bit naive sometimes. When my Weight Watchers leader, a few years ago, told us about her temptation to get a Bacon Maple Bar when she goes to "Vu Du Doughnuts in Portland, I never gave a single thought to the name that sounded like "Vu Du", and only thought that was a cool name for a doughnut shop.

We landed in Portland today, and happened upon Voo Doo Doughnuts. I thought, "THAT's what she was talking about! The line was really long, but I really wanted to try these famous doughnuts...so, we got in line.

Never had I considered the degree to which they would market their doughnuts, using so many slogans and references to VooDoo....not VuDu! Duh! Voo-Doo doughnuts. They even sell a coffin full of donuts for over $100. Fortunately most of their doughnuts were priced no different than anywhere else. Some of their specialties exceeded my expectation of what, even the yummiest doughnuts, would cost.

The "Keep Oregon Weird" sign is merged at a 90 degree angle over the wall of Voo Doo doughnuts, and was actually upright on a wall across the street. I thought the placement of this sign was particularly appropriate. This place was pretty weird, but I have to say their product is delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.