abasu

By abasu

Kitte Natsu「切手夏」- summer in Japan!

Kitte (切手) means a postage stamp while Natsu (夏) means summer. I was out the whole day with a friend of mine who is leaving Japan soon. The plan was to go to Odaiba, but then it extended to a Sumida river cruise to Asakusa and eventually ended in Marunouchi. Of all the photographs I captured during the day, this particular one reflects the feeling that I have of the Japanese summer with perfect subtlety.

Why?

To me, the Japanese summer does not mean the sweltering heat and humidity. Yes, these are parts of it but what I know it for are the summer bells (click here to hear if you haven't heard before), the powerful sound of cicadas under various trees, the overall joyful mood reflected in many summer festivals, fireworks, yakatabune and yet, for me, a constant reminder that the season won't last long just as all other seasons.

Shot inside the Japan Post tower (otherwise known as Kitte) in Marunouchi at the end of the day, this picture shows the Kitte Natsu (as if a postage stamp for summer) banner hanging with a large summer bell printed on it, and a young woman walking towards but below it. The slow shutter has managed to capture the woman in motion, portraying a sort of weightlessness and joy!

Many have asked me if I can tolerate the Japanese summer (because of the temperature). Well, I don't like the humidity when I am on the way to work but otherwise, it is the season that I love the most here in Japan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.