Brushes

A minor medical mishap late last night has put paid to any plans for swimming, body-surfing, cycling or walking today. We spent part of this morning in the doctor's surgery at Lochinver, then indulged in less demanding holiday pursuits such as checking out the displays in the Assynt Visitor Centre, enjoying tea and a scone in a cafe, mooching around a bookshop, and paying homage to the pottery at Highland Stoneware (where I photographed these brushes).

"Minor medical mishap? Which one of you?" I hear you ask...

Last night over dinner I mentioned to Mr hazelh that it felt like my right foot was stiffening up. After the meal the stiffening had transformed into real pain, and I couldn't put any weight on the foot at all. By the time we climbed into bed my poor foot was in agony. Mr hazelh tried to get me comfortable by elevating the foot and applying ice to it. Meanwhile my body went into shock and I couldn't stop shaking. For immediate treatment I took two paracetamol, and hoped that the pain would lessen so that I could sleep. At this stage we thought that I had perhaps broken a bone when playing in the sea earlier in the day.

This morning my foot felt a bit better, but I still couldn't walk on it, so we rang the local surgery and arranged a visit to Dr Vine. The good news is that neither my ankle nor foot is broken. I'm actually suffering from a severe muscle spasm, probably brought on by vigorous exercise. We think that we can pinpoint the key moment when this all kicked off: most likely at the point on the bike ride yesterday when Mr hazelh said "I need a bit more tandem power from the back".

Anyway, it's good news that nothing is broken, and I hope that we can resume active holiday pursuits again soon.

No exercise today, obviously...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.