Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Day Five - Reporting from the war zone

I was hoping to get a shot that would give you a feel for the ferocity with which the hummers guard their territory. And while this is not the crispest shot, I think it conveys at least a little of the action and drama. These two were battling it out over a feeder (which is just outside the frame) and as they went after each other I fired off shots in continuous bursts. Most were blurry beyond redemption, but this one is clear enough to show you their fighting form.

Hummingbirds resemble very fast helicopters when they fly - they can fly forward, backward, up, down and even sideways. It is a common sight in the garden to suddenly see a hummer raising straight up out of the flowers, like a tiny avian helicopter, where it will then hover momentarily. To my knowledge, they are the only bird that has the ability to fly this way.

I was tempted to break my week-long challenge today when the most exquisite little warbler showed up momentarily in the garden. It was a worm-eating warbler, a species I've only seen from a great distance. So to have it land on a sunflower branch 15 feet from me (and Big Daddy) was a wonderful experience. I posted a shot of it, along with three other hummers and a young cardinal on Flickr, starting HERE.

Today started with more rain but it is supposed to clear this afternoon. If it does, hubs and I will head over to Fair Grounds where the State Fair is going on for 10 days. I have two photos entered in the fair this year and am anxious to see how I did. Stiff competition, though, so not getting my hopes up.

I'll be back later. Thank you all for coming along on the Hummingbird Challenge!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.