Garden dragonfly

I was out early this morning doing a little bit of additional survey at Pingle Wood and Cutting NR. It was a beautiful morning, but I struggled to find much to photograph - ancient woodlands are at their very dullest in August, and although there was some moderately flowery grassland it was still largely in shade.

I felt very tired when I got home - I think the last fortnight or so has finally caught up with me - so after lunch I lay on the settee and had a short nap. I woke feeling refreshed and as I went to make a cup of tea I spotted this Common Darter flitting round the patio. I quickly put the 300mm lens on, stood outside for a moment or two, took one frame as it briefly landed on the Russian Sage and then it was gone! Blip done :)

August is probably the best month for high numbers of garden dragonflies. Many of the larger species like to hunt in flower-rich parks and gardens - today I have also seen Southern Hawker and Brown Hawker, and it won't be long before the Migrant Hawkers are on the wing.. Indeed, as I was mowing the grass this evening, I was closely pursued by a Southern Hawker who was skimming low over the cut areas, presumably catching any insects that I'd disturbed.

PS If you like butterflies do drop in to see yesterday's offering, perched on a most unusual nectar source!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.