Thirty No More

By MarkusMeerkat

The effects of the National Railway Museuem

This was as we left the National Railway Museum in York to join my sister for lunch.

I think we managed at least 15 minutes; and I can safely say the most boring 15 minutes I've ever spent in a museum.

I've been before when I was a kid, and I don't recall it being that boring. It wasn't just me either as C was also bored (as I hope this picture shows).

Strangely enough it just seems to be a collection of trains that are past their sell by date. Perhaps it's an age thing. My dad is fascinated by trains. and used to train-spot when he was a lad - but to me it's just a means of getting from A to B, without driving.

After we left here, and did lunch I decided to take C into the York Minster, as I seem to recall it's a beautiful building.

I also seem to recall that you could donate some money towards the up-keep when you go in.

Now, I'm sure the Church of England, like the Vatican is not cash strapped; so as a God Fearing Atheist :) I'm unlikley to pay to visit such a building (but would happily donate some cash).
But not £10 to visit. I didn't even bother to see how much it would have cost C on top of the tenner it would have cost me.

£10 !!!!!!

It doesn't have any rides, or attractions; and that doesn't even allow you to go up the tower.

Needless to say we didn't go in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.