stujphoto

By stujphoto

Great Tit Recovered

I was feeling great today as I had shot a series of birds in the garden late this morning so I thought my blip was sorted. However, when I came to download it this evening, I decided to try to download the photos to my my new iPad and to do my sorting and post-processing on the iPad. To my horror I found that Photos on the iPad did not recognise raw images. Now instead of doing the sensible thing and check if their were apps that would display and edit raw images I panicked and stopped the import and pressed 'Delete Photos' thinking that this would delete the iPad copies rather than the images on the memroy card. Big mistake.

However, I had used recovery programs before and thought it would be easy to recover the images. I used Image Rescue which came with one of my Lexar cards. First problem though was the fact that my memory card is 32GB so the recapture times were decidedly lengthy with the prospect over over a thousand images being recaptured ! Second problem was the software saved raw files with suffix '.tif ' which all needed to be changed to the original .CR2 suffix of the Caon EOS 7D. Third problem was that it was naming the files with names that were unrecognisable as they included hyphens , which neither Photoshop nor Lightroom would recognise.

Next stage to look for a Canon and Mac recovery program that was more usable. Canon recommended one and I downloaded and started to use it only to find that I had to pay for it, still as it was reviewed as one of the best progorams I bit the bullet. This worked well and reocvers all the exif data etc. though it still had to check through the 32gb card. I was relieved after it had scanned the card relatively quickly to see that the images I wanted were there though I was a little perturbed that they would be recovered as NEF files(not that I am biased . of course !!). Still that was no problem for Lightroom and in any case I tend to convert all my raw files to dng format when I import them to future proof them.

So I eventually was able to sort outhrough the images and chose this coal tit as my blip as we have not seen a lot of them previously. So there you have it a blip and omage recovered. My nerves might take a little longer.

Worth seeing LARGE just to see how well the original data has been recovered

I am reliably informed by ShutterUp that this is a great tit so I have revised my title. Sorry for the wrong identification

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.