A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

That time of year again

Press launch at the Pleasance this morning.

Some really great stuff at this. Never ceases to amaze me, the skill and creativity of some people.

A dance group called Gecko kicked off with a clip from their show Missing. I didn't really know what was supposed to be happening but it looked extremely impressive. (one of the characters unearthing her past apparently, from the programme)

Next was Colin Hoult. The audience seemed to enjoy it but I think perhaps it was just going over my head as I didn't really know any of the characters he was supposed to be!

Then we had Blam, a physical theatre group from Denmark. A group of men, drinking, carousing and playing cards. Every so often, one of them would make the wrong move and they would all start pointing guns (their fingers) at each other. At one point they tipped their table over and made it look as if you were looking down on them from above. Hilarious and way better than I am describing it.

Slightly Fat Features were on next - combining juggling, music and a man in clingfilm (see above). Very brilliant and funny.

To finish off we had Nick Helm, a shouty sweary comedian of which I don't normally like, except that he does it so brilliantly it makes me laugh like a drain every time. I have no idea how his voice survives for a whole Fringe every year..

The whole thing was compered by Joe Lycett who was very funny. He told a story of going into Emporio Armani with a Gregg's sausage roll in a bag that I so hope was true!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.