Barbara

By Tealuke

Celebration

Firstly, I'd like to say a HUGE thank you to Dmarc, who made my day/week/month by gifting me a blipfoto membership! So please do look in large! I will enjoy fiddling with stats and exploring what else I can do over the next few days:D

Yesterday I said I would try to get some fireworks shots and promptly found that the Edogawa display was today. It is considered to be Tokyo's 'best kept secret' firework display as only 1 million people turn up. hurrhurrhurr. In japan everyone sits when seeing the fireworks so you can all see, which makes things a lot more pleasant. Spaces are saved all day with blue tarpaulin, and many people wear yukatas or kimonos.

Fireworks (hanabi) in Japan are a lot bigger, longer and more sophisticated in the UK: Spherical explosions (most are 2d discs in the UK I think) with 3 concentric globes of sparks, of different colours, which change colour and flash at the end. Or cluster bombs that spread geometrically. Or star shaped explosions, or butterflies, or flowers.

I didn't have a small tripod which made it harder but could get some reasonably steady shots by holding it into the ground with the legs not fully out.

Bye Barbara

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.