MaryannA

By MaryannA

Cathedral, Cross, Clouds, Commemorate!

C is for Commemorate! My son was here today and I decided to take him to my favorite place as he had not been there yet. The Cathedral of the Pines is an outdoor cathedral that was built by a couple to commemorate their son's memory who was killed in World War Two.

com·mem·o·rate (k-mm-rt)
tr.v.com·mem·o·rat·ed, com·mem·o·rat·ing, com·mem·o·rates
1. To honor the memory of with a ceremony. See Synonyms at observe.

2. To serve as a memorial to.

[Latin commemorre, commemort-, to remind : com-, intensive pref.; see com- + memorre, to remind (from memor, mindful; see (s)mer-1 in Indo-European roots).]

I love to come here as it is so close to God and the clouds. The view is so awesome and I get such a feeling of calm when I am there. I took this shot from in front of the huge stone altar with the giant cross and knew this was my blip for today. I love that this is a place where everyone is welcome to come and pray and be amazed by the spectacle of nature and the panaramic view. A sign on the premises proclaims ~ All Faiths. One Family. One Earth.
A nice lunch at a rustic old restaurant was a nice topper for the day.

Today was a very lovely day. Bright and billowy clouds and a gentle breeze and some special time with my son!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.