Shutterbug

By studiob

My Loves

I love history.
I love that we're celebrating the fortieth anniversary
of man landing on the moon.
I loved the Mercury and Apollo missions.

I remember my mom getting up early to watch the lift-offs and ironing while she did, my brother and I would joining her when we got up.
I remember hearing Mission Control counting off to the take-off, and sometimes for some reason, they wouldn't lift off and we'd be disappointed.
I remember going to Houston with my family and visiting NASA and swimming with Michael Collins' kids at the hotel swimming pool that let the astronauts' wives and kids swim.

Eli and I love the Moon.

He used to called it the moona when he was first starting to talk and we would always look for it in the sky.
We love the poem about the moon we discovered on Baby Shakespeare by Langston Hughes called "My Loves".

I love to see the big white moon,
A-shining in the sky.
I love to see the little stars,
When shadow clouds go by.

I love the raindrops falling
On my rooftop in the night;
I love the soft wind's sighing
Before the dawns gray light.

I love taking him to the Science Museum with the Planetarium and the Space exhibit that has an Apollo Module and rockets and moon rocks and taking his picture in a cutout of an astronaut holding the American flag, which we also love.

I love Blip Foto and all the friends from around the world that I've made on here.

I love all the moon pictures shared on this site and the postings today honoring the anniversary.

I love it when I post a photo within seconds of Cabbagepatch Tree, who has posted the same subject within seconds of me on the other side of the world.

I love the inspiration and talent and support I have found in this community.

So tonight, I lit three candles
for Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin and Michael Collins
and for this community called Blip Foto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.