Cailleach

By Cailleach

Arts and Flowers

I love this time of year in Edinburgh - when the biggest Arts Festival in the world unrolls, and keeps us entertained for the next month.

Every available space becomes a venue - at the moment, there is even a circus in the building site across the canal from me!

This morning, I had coffee with a pal in this 'pop-up' café, and was being rather smug about my recent weight loss. Another acquaintance wandered past, and I noticed that she was enormously pregnant. We greeted each other with much pretentious Edinburgh-style air kissing, and talked across each other with the 'Darling, how are you?' stuff. As the same time she was asking after me, I was patting my own tummy, and going 'Awwww', in the way people do when they're signalling happiness for the imminent event. But this woman had obviously never been to the same school of mime as me....she took one look at my tummy, said 'Are you? Me too.' and wandered off!!!

Talk about being brought back down to earth with a bump - literally!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.