Mrs Cyclops

By MrsCyclops

First night at the Pleasance

First night of the Fringe. Yay. My favourite. Headed down to the Pleasance Courtyard with a plan to pretty much settle there until Sunday. I’d got a few preview tickets in advance based on what I’d liked last year and I planned to pick up some random things. I generally avoid seeing anyone famous, preferring to ‘discover’ something new. And I’m not fussy about the genre, I’ll try most things. In preview week at least.

Had a nice evening, saw a couple of shows and loads of friends.

Fringe show 1: Birthday Girls 2053 (3.5*)
The Birthday Girls (previously part of Lady Garden) live in 2053 in a time when comedy has been banned. They perform underground comedy, standing up to the man. I enjoyed the sketches enough, they were reasonably funny and well delivered. The nun sketch was hilarious. I thought I’d probably give this a solid three, but as an overall piece it was very well crafted. The story was coherent and consistent, and the callbacks were quietly interwoven throughout and nicely done. I imagine it will get better as they settle into the run too.

Fringe show 2: Richard Herring - We're all going to die (4*)
The subject for Richard Herring’s 2013 show is death, and he wants to see if there is a funny side. Richard is a prolific podcaster and I’ve been working my way through this year. Given I listen to him on my ipod most days it was pretty exciting to see him again in person. As always I enjoyed his delivery, he has a nice engaging manner and I’m always impressed by the volume of material that he packs in. It feels concurrently scripted, spontaneous and emotionally varied, like a dramatic monologue. I was familiar with quite a lot of the material already either from his podcasts or his Metro column, but that was OK it feels nice to have been exposed to the creative process. I liked it. It was good, it was funny. I love the sly mix of childish humour and complicated concepts. But in my opinion not quite as focused as some of his other work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.